The Proposed Fiscal Year 2016 budget for the City of San Diego contains funding to survey the Pacific Beach portion of Rose Creek with the goal of  parkland dedication. However, Assessor Parcel Numbers (APN) are required for the City to dedicate parks and unfortunately, much of the creek is missing APNs. Surveying will resolve this road block and allow Mayor Faulconer to proceed with parkland dedication — an effort he has supported since he represented Pacific Beach on the city council.

Please email your city council representative today and ask them to:

  • Please support retaining budget item “Rose creek Survey for Parkland Dedication” listed on page 326 of Attachment B; Attachment 3: FY 2016 – 2020 Discretionary Operational Needs” under Transportation and Storm Water – Storm water in the City of San Diego’s Proposed 2016 Fiscal Year Budget.
  • The Pacific Beach Community Plan updated in 1995  calls to “designate the Rose Creek inlet and flood control channel as open space, and further develop the area adjacent to the floodway as a linear parkway with native riparian landscaping, pedestrian and bicycle paths” (Page 68).
  • Dedicating the Rose Creek Salt Marsh and Estuary is one piece in numerous active planning efforts, including the Mission Bay Gateway project, San Diego Audubon wetlands restoration planning efforts, and the  City’s own Transit Oriented Development project encompassing the area from Rose Creek to the proposed Mid-Coast Trolley Station  on Balboa Avenue.

Feel free to copy and paste the bullet points as if. If you want more details on the project to create Lower Rose Creek park, click here.

I was hoping to have an easy to use form prepared, but due to technical challenges, we’re going old-school.  Click on the email address of your councilmember to open a pre-addressed email. Then copy the bullet points above into the email. Sign with your name and address so the city council knows you are a real life constituent.

District 1
Council President Sherri Lightner
District 2
Councilmember Lorie Zapf
District 3
Councilmember Todd Gloria
District 4
Councilmember Myrtle Cole
District 5
Councilmember Mark Kersey
District 6
Councilmember Chris Cate
District 7
Councilmember Scott Sherman
District 8
Councilmember David Alvarez
District 9
Council President Pro Tem Marti Emerald


If you do not know who your district, please click here for the district map.

Then send a quick thank you to Mayor Kevin Faulconer  ( for including this important item in his proposed budget.

Please send the email A.S.A.P. Let’s not lose this now that we’ve come so close.

Categories: Uncategorized


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.